Lysippe Archer (lysippe_archer) wrote in horse_slaughter,
Lysippe Archer
lysippe_archer
horse_slaughter

Alerts! Horse slaughter issues in Texas and Illinois that must be stopped now!

The following is a forward, please pass this on!
--------

There is still a very real danger that horse slaughter will be legalized in Texas. With only 9 days left in the Texas legislative session, the horse slaughtering plants have one last chance to legalize horse slaughter. To do this they must get SB 911 to the House floor so they can ADD a pro-slaughter amendment to it. To stop this action, we must kill SB 911 in the House Calendars Committee and we must do it now. We are asking everyone to contact each member of the Calendars Committee immediately and urge them to kill SB 911.


The members of the Calendars Committee are as follows:



Dan Branch (R) dan.branch@... 463-0367 / 322-9935
Norma Chávez (D) norma.chavez@... 463-0622 / 478-6755
Myra Crownover (R) myra.crownover@... 463-0582 / 463-0471
Dawnna M. Dukes (D) dawnna.dukes@... 463-0506 / 463-7864
Gary Elkins (R) Gary.Elkins@... 463-0722 / 472-5610
Ryan Guillen (D) ryan.guillen@... 463-0416 / 463-1012
Mike Hamilton (R) mike.hamilton@... 463-0412 / 463-1915
Larry Taylor (R) larry.taylor@... 463-0729 / 474-2398
Sylvester Turner (D) Sylvester.Turner@... 463-0554 / 463-8380
Corbin Van Arsdale (R) corbin.van_arsdale@... 463-0661 / 463-4130
Beverly Woolley (R) beverly.woolley@... 463-0696 / 463-9333



Thank you for your support!


President, Texas Humane Legislation Network
Sawjja
http://people.tribe.net/50e26aa0-654f-4ae3-9871-ab22bba1e5cf


---------------------------------------------------------------------------
the following is from MJ http://people.tribe.net/mjnyc

=================================================================

URGENT HELP NEEDED FOR HORSES AT CAVEL SLAUGHTER HOUSE. PLEASE CONTACT GOVERNOR AND PASS ON.

================================================================


Re: HB 1711 to prohibit the slaughter of horses in IL for human consumption


Passed 5/16/07. Governor needs to sign into law to stop the slaughter. Just received email that Cavel is slaughtering by the truck load (they have sped it up because they know their days are limited).


to: Governor
Rod R. Blagojevich Democrat
governor@illinois.gov

Address

Phone

Fax

207 State Capitol
Springfield, IL 62706

217-782-6830

217-524-4049

James R. Thompson Center
100 W. Randolph Street, Ste. 16-100
Chicago, IL 60601

312-814-2121

312-814-6775




============================================


Example text:


I am in receipt of an email this morning which states that Cavel is stepping up the number of horses being slaughtered, in light of the passage of HB 1711, and in anticipation of this bill being signed into law.


Please take quick action on HB 1711, which was passed on 5/16/07, and sign it into law.


Thank you,
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your IP address will be recorded 

  • 0 comments